Living on a Dime Detective

As many of you know, I am very frugal and I love a challenge as well.  I was visiting one of my favorite websites, www.hillbillyhousewife.com, and she talked about the Angel Food Ministries.  I have heard of this ministry before but I did not know what kind of food there was and if it was really a savings.  I put on my detective hat and armed with my calculator, I made it a challenge to see what this Ministry was all about.  I had two questions to answer:  1.  Was the food of good quality?  2.  Will I save money?

I tackled the quality issue first.  I purchased a regular food box and a fruit/veggie box.  My total was $49.00 for the two boxes.  They promised to feed my family of 4 for a week’s worth of dinners.  I was a little afraid that the food would not taste good and/or my kids would reject it.  Well, to my surprise, the food was delicious.  Now, I had to add my own flair a couple of times but all in all, the food quality was great.  And it did last a week.

Now, did it save me money?  Remember I was armed with my calculator.  I took the list for October’s regular box and headed to Wal-Mart.  I wanted to see if there was any price difference between the $30 regular box and a box full of Wal-Mart brand items.  Here’s what I discovered.  Wal-Mart was $75.00.  OUCH!!  I was really shocked because the whole time I was pricing I kept thinking there was no way Angel Food could beat Wal-Mart.  That is a $45 difference!!!  That is $45 dollars in my pocket.

What you need to know about Angel Food is that you will have to make a trip to the grocery story for breakfest items, drinks, lunch items and other misc. purchase that you can not live without.  But the week that I purchased the box, I only spent $25 for the breakfast and lunch items…. Now let’s see that is $49 plus $25…. Oh my, that is less than a $100 for the week!!  My wallet smiled and I was feeling more financially sound.

If you would like to try Angel Food Ministries go to their website: www.angelfoodministries.comYou can locate a local church in your area.  Oh and if you are worried about qualifications…. Don’t the only criteria that you need to meet is:

You qualify if you can eat.

Don’t you love it!!!

One thought on “Living on a Dime Detective

  1. Thanks so much for the feedback. I was actually wondering myself. I have been ordering from Angel Food Ministries for the past few months. I love the convenience of the host sites and the actual amount I receive for $30. It’s good to be reassured by someone who actually did the research. AFM is currently working on making their website more user friendly. Here is what the July menu looks like http://dev.angelnet.org/emailer/html/090708_menu.html. I can’t wait to see what the August menu looks like.

    God Bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

