Resonation

Welcome to the “Whisper” Blog Party!

For those of you who are new to my website, I am so glad you came!  For my readers, welcome back!!  Today is a great day.   My dear friends from She Speaks Conference and I are having a “Blog Party.”  Each of us are blogging about 1 Kings 19:12, “After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire came a gentle whisper.”  At the end of my post you will find a McLinky listing of my friends’ posts.  Please feel free to mingle among the guest bloggers and of course feel free to add how 1 Kings 19:12 whispers to you.

******

Have you ever been called on the red carpet?  Been in the hot seat?  It isn’t the most pleasant experience.  Being totally scrutinized, harshly criticized, and made to feel like you are standing in the line of fire, would cause anyone to tuck tail and run or at least put up a good fight before going down.

I personally have stood in front of a firing squad; one too many times in fact.  Whether an angry parent, boss, or friend, I never enjoyed harsh “talking to’s.” Words severed my zeal for a career or two.  I thought I was doing what I was called to do.  Teaching was my passion.  It was the profession I loved.  So was Children’s Ministry.  It was basically the same principle:  Teaching….. just a different subject.  It was hard to hear criticism that at the time felt unjust and unfair.  My passion for teaching was rejected, broken down, and basically put to an untimely death or at least it was in my eyes.  And thus, I put up a good fight and when the fight was out of me….. I ran defeated and feeling so insecure.

It wasn’t until later when the dust had settled and hurt feelings were covered in Band-aids that I began to really take a hard look at my purpose.  Oh trust me, I felt like I was doing what I was supposed to do.  Confused, angry, and lost without a passion, zeal, or something to define me, I cried out to the Lord.

He just shook His mighty head and asked, “What are you doing?  Seek Me…. I am coming.”  So, what was I supposed to do?  Clean house?  Set an extra place setting at the dinner table?  Was I suppose to wallow in my sorrow?  I sought. I weathered the emotions.  I waited….. then I heard….. the whisper.

Humbled by the sound of His voice, I heard it…. my purpose.  It wasn’t written across the blue sky.  It wasn’t a newsflash.  It wasn’t like what I expected God to sound like….. you know burning bush, bellowing clouds, trumpets……but a whisper that resonated from every fiber of my being.

*********

So what does 1 Kings 19:12 “After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire came a gentle whisper.” whisper to you?  Just click on “You’re Next” down below and add the link to your WHISPER post.  And link your post back to the whispering list so others can join us.  Just follow the McLinky instructions once you click below and it will be easy as pie!!

Enjoy listening to all the whispers……..

4 thoughts on “Resonation

Leave a Reply

