Christmas 2010

A friend keeps posting the Christmas countdown on Facebook.  Considering it is still HOT around here, Christmas isn’t on my mind.  Walking through our local Dollar General store yesterday, I noticed Christmas decorations were everywhere!!  Shaking my head while wiping the sweat from my brow, I realized it was time to think about Christmas.

Recently, I found a good book at the library called, A Greener Christmas. The book is all about an “all natural” eco-friendly Christmas.  This book is right up my alley!!   It contains recipes, craft ideas, decorations, and gifts.  I fell in love with this book.

Thumbing through the pages, the ideas inspired me.  Everything from Christmas cards to gift wrap had a bit of Mother Earth.  My thoughts shot to the wonderful books I read as a kid.  I loved to read about the prairie and the pioneer times.  I often thought about how their Christmas looked.  They didn’t have stores.  They didn’t have resources at the tips of their fingers like we do today.  They basically had “Mother Earth” and their imagination.

Bing…

The light bulb just turned on..

This year’s Christmas theme… wait for it… drum roll please….Ta Da…

An All Natural Pioneer Christmas!!!!

The crowd went wild…..

Thank You… Thank you very much… Hey who let Elvis up in here?????

Okay folks, my kids are going to choke when I tell them…We are not dragging out the Christmas decorations.  That’s right!  Nothing synthetic, plastic, or factory made this year!  A real tree..gulp.. Popcorn and cranberry garland, Dried fruit and cookie ornaments!  The dogs are already loving this idea!  They are licking their lips right now!

Doesn’t this sound like FUN??  I hope to have inspired you to think outside your Christmas box.  Our ancestors enjoyed their Christmas just without all the store bought stuff.  I hope you check out the book, A Greener Christmas and come back here each Thursday for ideas.  This is going to be so much fun!!

God Bless….

One thought on “Christmas 2010

  1. I cannot wait to hear J’s reaction to this idea! Please be sure to share with me! It sounds exciting! Good luck with that!
    Looking forward to your speaking engagement tonight! Good luck! See ya tonight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

