Strangling Miss Perky

Oh, the dread….. enjoy today’s segment of the short story.

Like every year, I drag myself to the doctor’s office.  It is a necessary evil in my mind.  I absolutely hate going.  And like most years, I cancel as many appointments until I receive the we-are-canceling-your-policy letter from my health insurance company.  I hate how insurance companies are in control of MY health…….. I am perfectly fine……

So I sit and wait for the perky nurse to open the door just to mispronounce my name.  Delinski….. Del as in “farmer in the dell”…… in…… ski as in water or snow ski not sky….. geezsh,  you would think no one has gone to elementary school……  Eventually, this long wait causes my blood pressure to rise.  It’s the aggravation responsible…… not my eating habits……. 

After reading (not flipping through) the stack of magazines, health pamphlets, and drug information sheets, the coveted door opens and the perky nurse steps out.  Everyone in the room looks up anxious and guessing who’s the lucky winner, Miss Perky looks down at the file in hand and boldly says, “Dealinsky.”  Really???  I’ve been coming here for 10 years…….It’s not worth correcting…….  I rise from my seat, aggravations and all, and step forward.

Over the years, I have learned that ignorance is bliss when it comes to the scales.  If I don’t see Miss Perky write down or move the scale upward, I am much more pleasant.  I always turn my back from those climbing numbers like an angry child not getting her way.  I chose not to know….. after all, it is MY choice……..

“Okay, Mrs. Dealinsky, if you would please stand on the scale.  You can remove your shoes if you want.”

I smile.  “DEL-IN-SKI!!!! For God’s sake!!!” I scream in my head.  I  feel the blood pressure rising.

I step up on the scale, with my shoes on in defiance, and turn.  I even cross my arms just like a child.  I hear Miss Perky slide the scale up, pause, up some more, pause, up some more and then with her irritating perky sing-songy voice she says, “There we go!  Thank you, you can get down.”

Gladly…..  I watch her jot down the number.  Her face tells the story though.  Eyes slightly widen, a perky yet nervous smile, and a quick jot with the pen, states the obvious.  I can see the thought bubble forming over her head…..”Had a few more burgers this year”……..  She finishes and Miss Perky says, “Exam room 3, please.  The doctor will be in a minute.”

 Back to waiting…..  The longer I wait the higher the pressure needle climbs.  I glance at my phone for the time.  Yep, an hour…… I’ve wasted this hour….. I could be home right now cleaning out a closet…… Miss Perky comes in takes my temp and then the dreaded blood pressure.

“Oh my,”  she says, “Our pressure is up today.”

I don’t even ask the numbers.  I just smile.  Could’ve told you that was coming……..  She folds up the cuff, jots down my vitals, and bee-bobs right out the door.  I close my eyes and breathe deeply in hopes of bringing down my pressure.

The doctor comes in.  He reviews my chart.  And in five minutes, he sings the same song.

“I see you have gained some more weight.  Are you exercising?  You should be active, Mrs. Delinski.  Try walking at least 30 minutes a day until  you work up to more strenuous exercise.  Eat less carbohydrates.  Eat more protein.  Try just eating fruits and vegetables for a week at a time.  Drink more water.  Your pressure is up more this time……..”

I’ve heard it before, Doc…….. 

“I want to see you in 3 months.  If your pressure isn’t down or if you haven’t lost weight, we will have to discuss medication.”

I blink.  He’s never said those words to me before.

“I have some information on nutrition in my office.  I will get those for you.”

He leaves the room.  My chart lays on the counter.  My curiosity, or concern at the very least, gets the best of me.  I stand and sneak up on the chart as if it is going to bite.  Wonder how high the pressure is…… If they didn’t keep me waiting so long……… 

Then I see the worst of it all.  I couldn’t see any numbers past these two little bold print words scribbled on the top of the sheet next to my name.  Two words just punched the air right out of my sail.  The shock and horror made my knees weak and my fears a reality.  For I see……..

MORBIDLY OBESE

I swallow, take my seat and hold back the tears.

My God, what have I done to myself?

 

Leave a comment