Fun Shine

You are my sunshine.  My only sunshine……..

I’m changing the words–

You are my funshine.  My only funshine.  You make me happy when skies are blue.

So, as you know, I have given up sugar.  Ummmm H.A.R.D!  I’ve been groggy, foggy, and cranky.  I can actually hear my cellular make up screaming, “Just eat a candy bar and all this will go away.”

Oh, I remember feeling this when I thought I was dying from soda withdrawals.  So, I haven’t been myself for the past few days.  Poor Mark and the kids.

But, before the sugarless lifestyle, I had been feeling quite down.  LOW would probably describe me better.  I have been thinking some “happy meds” might be in my future if I don’t snap out of this funk.

However, I think I have nailed the problem down.  Yep, I put on my old detective hat (yes, plaid and sooo darling and totally make believe).  So I have been sporting this make believe hat and doing some soul searching.

Well…. I kinda had some help.  Isn’t it funny how God just plants those people up in your life??  Sometimes up in our grill….. sometimes just a fleeting remark…… sometimes (and those are the ones I get the most) a big old slap on the backside of your head.

Anyways, a friend approached me during the Christmas break.  He asked about going back to teaching.  I grumbled.  He asked about general things like my kids, hubby, and self.  And my answers were all grumbled.

Today, I couldn’t even accept a compliment.  I had my hair cut and everyone was raving.  I grumbled.  What the heck!?!?!?!?!  Could I just not say, “Thank you”??  Am I that lost in this world of yuck????

So anyways, back to my friend and my good looking make believe detective hat……  He was kinda taken back by my responses.  I’m usually pretty happy go lucky but he just sweetly smiled and said, “You need to remember to have fun.  Do something everyday that is fun.  Something that will balance your day.”

Huh.  Could it be that simple?  Could doing something everyday that I enjoy really make a difference?  What on earth could it be?  I’ve been drowning myself in Netflix and Amazon Prime.  So that isn’t it.  It just makes me a zombie.

Well, hmmmmm…… guess I need to make a list of things that will be fun……

Reading

Writing

Painting

Sewing

Bossing the kids around…… I couldn’t resist.

I bet I could have a 1000 things on my list.

Proverbs 15:13 A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.

Oh, So, I guess I need a little funshine in my life.

Proverbs 17:22 A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

 

Leave a Reply

