In Sync

So over the past few weeks, I have really contemplated my blog challenge.  I have been analyzing my life, searching for answers as to why I feel like I do, and waiting for God’s direction.

His direction was being sent constantly, I just wasn’t ready to hear it.  I have been hearing his soft whisper for a long while……  Go walk…… Read your Bible…… Go to Bible study….. Blog….. Eat right…..  I was out of sync.

Yep, I was doing everything in my power to literally not listen.  And the first step in this month’s challenge is to listen.  I need to follow His lead in everything.  I have no excuse not to follow His commands.

If you love me, keep my commands.  John 14:15

When I look back when I was the biggest Jesus Freak, I was in tune with what God expected from me.  Many times it is my need for control or my desire to do what I want, that keeps me from following His commands.  But, He knows what is best for me.  I would I ever think that my way is best?!?!?!?!?

Secondly, for this challenge is to rekindle the grateful heart.  My heart has grown bitter.  I have allowed callouses to form and to prevent me to feel the gratitude I need to live positively.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Colossians 3:15

Thankfulness leads to peace.  Peace is what I need.  I have been so restless.  I have longed for just a peaceful moment each day.  Most days have been filled with dread.  Most days I feel anger, sadness, and unsettled.  Things have to change…….

So this morning, I looked for snapshots of gratitude.  I walked this morning and kept an eye out for little signs of God’s love and wonder.  Nature is where I find peace.  God’s grace and love and mystery surrounds me and it is about time I look for those nuggets.

I did…… I found God’s wonder…….

I captured the moment, the feeling, and beauty.

So far the challenge includes me listening and following God’s commands and to have a grateful heart.  And the third part of this month’s challenge should be something I do regardless.  But, I am stubborn, a control freak, and well……. not the smartest.

God’s been nudging a long time on this one.  And well, I need to listen.  My food allergies and intolerances have really been a challenge.  I will say things like…… “It is worth the stomach ache.”  “It’s a holiday and I am gonna have it.”  Ummmmmm how crazy is that?  I know if I eat cow products I will get sick….. yet I will.  I know if I eat gluten or root veggies my stomach swells and I feel miserable for days….. yet I eat them.  Why?  Why?  Why would I do that?  Again, it goes back to my control thing.  I would rather be in control than in comfort.  Crazy isn’t it.

So there’s my challenge.  So, only time will tell……….

Leave a Reply

