Baked Oatmeal Recipe

 

Daniel fast pic

My fast begins in one week.  This is going to be a great challenge.  I am looking forward to leaning on God’s strength and wisdom during this adventure.

I am gathering recipes and making plans with this great book.  It has everything lined out for me.  There are recipes and daily devotions.  Kristen Feola explains the techniques and purposes behind fasting. daniel fast Her great knowledge on fasting makes me want to do it everyday.. well, okay maybe I am stretching it a weeee tiny bit.  But she makes it sound so… well.. Holy.  Ahem..  because it is!!  She shows examples of who in the Bible used fasting and how God responded.  Her devotions are clear and easy to follow.  She has done all the work for me.  And for that, I am truly blessed.

Hey she even has a recipe for corn chips in there… Giving up salsa was going to be hard!!  Praise God for creative geniuses!

Today, I am going to share one of Ms. Feola’s recipes for Baked Oatmeal.  This will probably be one of my most consumed breakfasts!  It sounds great and well.. I am not allergic to it!!

Baked Oatmeal

1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup chopped dried apricots

1/4 cup chopped dates or raisins

1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (I will have pecans.. Ugh!  Allergies!!)

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Put all ingredients in a large bowl and stir well.  Transfer to an 8X8 inch baking dish that has been lightly rubbed with olive oil.  Pour oatmeal mixture into dish and bake 45-50 minutes or until slightly browned and crispy on top.  Double the recipe for a 9×13 casserole dish.

SONY DSC

Yummy!!  Enjoy your Thursday and God Bless..

1 thought on “Baked Oatmeal Recipe

Leave a comment